Richard W

After being approved to join this forum your first post should be a short profile about you and your Tenyo
Richard W
Global Moderator

Richard W

Post by Richard W » Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:57 am

Hello

I have been playing with magic since I was 8 years old. I would go to the famous Bert Easley's Fun Shop every Saturday and ask the infamous local magician Jack Sutherland that worked there part time to help out to show me the many effects in the mysterious glass display counter. He would ask me what I had in my pockets. I would bring things out and he would do various feats of magic with them. It was truly amazing. I would take different things each time I went. Didn't matter what I had he would make it vanish, change into something else, end up inside something or another location in the shop. I was hooked for life on magic after seeing what could be done with ordinary things that other people had on their pockets.

They didn't have any Tenyo items. The stuff I got was usually Adams, Johnson, EZ Magic, Viking, all the trick decks of cards. He told me one time son you are wasting your money on all these cheap effects, they are ok but the real magic is in these books over here. He pulled out the Tarbell Course In Magic Vol 7 and said save your money and buy this book to start with it has a section on sleight of hand you will get more out of than all these over the counter toys. I learned the basic moves in front of a mirror for hours and amaze myself how good it looked.

I have always had interest in locks and keys so naturally I learn many escape tricks. Was able to pick locks with home made picks. Open Smith & Wesson double locking handcuffs with a small safety pin. Never put on any magic shows just did tricks for my family and friends but did become a professional locksmith. It is like magic and perform the mysterious art of manipulating their locks open and producing keys for locks without taking them apart. It looks like magic to most.